Last Dance with Alabama

Day 24: Greenville to Eufaula AL: 110.8 miles, 13.8 mph, 4915 feet of climbing. 6766 calories

Goodbye Alabama. Goodbye to Tom Petty.

For the last 3 days I have been struggling to get into my 2 highest gears. Those who know me for pushing big gears at a low cadence are laughing to see me spinning like a normal person. I feel like a gunslinger without my pistols.

IMG_2131

We talk about this tour as Groundhog Day.  Each day is a repeat of the one before: packing up, preparing the bike, eating breakfast, applying chamois butter, loading the van, loading the route on the Garmin, starting pedaling. I really don’t feel the day has begun until I get down on my aero bars. Similarly, the ride today felt like the last 2: same rollers, same east wind, same gentle sun. I made it fresh by taking pictures during the early light. Then I joined the Ice Cream Gang until lunch. I came in alone, choosing to ride at my pace and meditate.

IMG_2127

Tonight I will join James and Daniel for craft beers. I am beginning to think about “lasts.” Is this the last craft beer night? Was this my last ride with the Gang? I try to stay in the moment, but we are now 90 percent done with this tour.

 

Leave a comment